AJR Ordains 6

On May 22, AJR held its annual service of ordination on the campus of the College of Mount Saint Vincent. At the service, Rabbinical Ordination was conferred upon Peg Kershenbaum, Suri Krieger, Charles Lightner, Lean Moritt, Cantor Howard Nacht and Eleanor Pearlman.

Each candidate was presented by a member of his or her Bet Din, blessed with the birkat kohanim, and formally presented to community, family and friends as a rabbi. Each then shared teachings and their thoughts on this sacred occasion.

In addition to the ordination of rabbis, awards were presented in several categories.
DescriptionDescriptionThis year, the P’nei Torah Award was presented to Rabbi Jeff Hoffman, a highly respected and dedicated member of the Academy faculty.

Hazzan Sunny Schnitzer was selected by the Association of Rabbis and Cantors to receive the Alumnus of the Year Award for his outstanding contribution to the Jewish community.